Nov 252013

RaAM 10 conference: Metaphor in Communication, Science and EducationCagliari, June 20-23, 2014

Department of Pedagogy, Psychology, Philosophy
School of Communication Science
University of Cagliari

We are pleased to announce the 10th conference of the Association for Researching and Applying Metaphor (RaAM), which will be held in Cagliari, Island of Sardinia, Italy, from 20 to 23 June 2014.

The Association for Researching and Applying Metaphor welcomes researchers from various theoretical approaches studying metaphor and metonymy in different forms of expression and in different realms of use in society (e.g., educational, political, commercial, artistic). Contributors to the 2014 conference may approach metaphor and metonymy from a variety of perspectives (including philosophical, cognitive, discursive, cultural, pedagogical, social, etc.) and by applying a variety of methods (including discourse analytical methods, corpus-based methods, experimental methods, etc.)

The theme for 2014 is “Metaphor in Communication, Science and Education”, and the keynote speakers in these three general areas are:

Communication: Gerard Steen (VU University Amsterdam, Netherlands)
Science: Silvano Tagliagambe (University of Cagliari, Italy)
Education: Graham Low (University of York, UK)

The conference will also include two themed panels specifically dedicated to metaphor in science:

Metaphor in Human Sciences, directed by Liliana Albertazzi (University of Trento, Italy). Invited speakers: Zoltán Kövecses (Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest, Hungary), Susanne Niemeier (University of Koblenz-Landau, Germany) and Tony Veale (University College Dublin, Ireland).

Metaphor in Natural Sciences, directed by Elena Gagliasso (University of Rome “La Sapienza”, Italy) and Giulia Frezza (University of Rome “La Sapienza”, Italy). Invited speakers: Martin Döring (University of Hamburg, Germany), Carmela Morabito (University of Rome “Tor Vergata”, Italy) and Andrea Grignolio (University of Rome “La Sapienza”, Italy).
Call for papers

Abstracts of 20-minute papers (no more than 400 words, excluding references) and poster presentations are invited on any topic in the broad areas indicated: communication, science and education. The main language of the conference will be English, but there will also be one track of papers in Italian. Abstracts should be prepared for blind refereeing and submitted electronically via the online submission system EasyChair, which can be accessed at the following address:

Please follow the instructions on how to create a new user account. Once you are registered, you will be able to log on to EasyChair, create your abstract, modify it as necessary, and submit it.

Deadline for abstracts submissions: December 31, 2013
Notification of acceptance/rejection: March 1, 2014

Prizes will be awarded for the best paper by a PhD student. PhD students can indicate their interest in being considered for this prize via the EasyChair submission site. A number of tutorials, geared toward PhD students, will be offered on June 21, 2014. Furthermore, a limited number of bursaries, based on merit and/or financial need, will be available for PhD students who have had their abstracts accepted. The bursaries will be offered by RaAM and the local organising committee and entail a fee waiver and help towards travel costs.

For further information, please email or visit the conference website

The scientific committee:
Cristina Cacciari (University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy)
Robyn Carston (University College London, UK)
Jonathan Charteris-Black (University of the West of England, UK)
Alan Cienki (Vrije Universiteit, Netherlands)
Seana Coulson (University of California, San Diego, USA)
Alice Deignan (University of Leeds, UK)
Vincenzo Fano (University of Urbino, Italy)
Charles Forceville (Universiteit van Amsterdam, Netherlands)
Rachel Giora (Tel Aviv University, Israel)
Bipin Indurkhya (AGH Univ. of Science and Technology, Cracow, Poland and IIT, Hyderabad, India)
Beatrice Ligorio (University of Bari, Italy)
Jeannette Littlemore (University of Birmingham, UK)
Maria Teresa Musacchio (University of Padua, Italy)
Andreas Musolff (University of East Anglia, UK)
Francesco Paoli (University of Cagliari, Italy)
Elena Semino (Lancaster University, UK)

The local organizing committee:
Francesca Ervas, Elisabetta Gola and Pietro Storari (chairs);
Valentina Favrin, Antonio Ledda, Maria Grazia Rossi, Giuseppe Sergioli, Filippo Spanu.

Not yet a member of the RaAM International Association and wish to join?
See the link for ‘Joining’ on the web page

contatti | accessibilità Università degli Studi di Cagliari
C.F.: 80019600925 - P.I.: 00443370929
note legali | privacy